Contacts

The conservation professionals listed below can advise private landowners, land trusts, municipalities, and organizations on where to make young forest, how to do it the best way, and how to find and obtain funding to create this valuable habitat.

Young forest in Maine

Young aspen brightens the landscape following a timber harvest./C. Fergus

Each person’s contact information is followed by any special wildlife emphasis and/or the region where he or she works.

You can also contact your state’s wildlife division, as many such agencies have private-lands biologists and programs that explain, encourage, and sometimes help to fund habitat-management practices that benefit young-forest wildlife. Federal programs can help farm and forestland owners as well, including the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program and the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service’s Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP).


New England

Haley Andreozzi, University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension, Wildlife Outreach Coordinator, Durham, NH, haley.andreozzi@unh.edu, 603-862-5327 (New England cottontail, southern NH)

Kelly Boland, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Dover, NH, Kelly.Boland@nh.usda.gov, 603-868-9931 x 113 (New England cottontail, southern NH)

Joel Carlson, Northeast Forest & Fire Management, Sandwich, MA, joelcarlson@ne-ffm.com, www.ne-ffm.com, 508-274-2234 (ecological management of pine barrens, prescribed burns, wildlife habitat restoration, timber harvest management, New England and NY)

Gary Casabona, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Warwick, RI, gary.casabona@ri.usda.gov, 401-822-8837 (New England cottontail, RI)

Matt DiBona, National Wild Turkey Federation, Belchertown, MA, mdibona@nwtf.net, 302-943-3239 (wild turkey, VT)

Gary Donovan, Wildlife Management Institute, Holden, ME, gdonovan46@msn.com, 207-843-6326 or 207-745-1110 (ME, New England Region)

Steve Fuller, Wildlife Management Institute, Weare, NH, sfuller71@comcast.net, 603-230-2470 or 603-361-4336 (New England cottontail, New England Region)

Beth Goldstein, Realty Specialist, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Hadley, MA, beth.goldstein@fws.gov, 413-253-8564 (Great Thicket National Wildlife Refuge, CT, MA, ME, NH, RI)

David Irving, Consulting Forester, Shelterwood Solutions, Lincoln, ME, david@shelterwoodmaine.com, 207-944-9066 (ME)

Andrew Johnson, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Scarborough, ME, andrew.johnson@me.usda.gov, 207-883-0159 x 108 (New England cottontail, Cumberland and York counties, ME)

Don Keirstead, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Durham, NH, donald.keirstead@nh.usda.gov, 603-868-9931 x 128 (New England cottontail, southern NH)

John Lanier, Wildlife Management Institute, Colebrook, NH, john@ursush.com, 603-237-8715 or 603-331-4232 (northern NH)

Dale May, Wildlife Management Institute, Hampton, CT, dale.may@sbcglobal.net, 860-455-0037 or 860-617-2938 (CT)

Joe Nelson, Wildlife Management Institute, Vergennes, VT, jwnelson.pc@gmail.com, 802-343-9888 (VT, northern NY)

Andrea Petrullo, Connecticut Division of Energy and Environmental Protection, Marlborough, CT, Andrea.petrullo@ct.gov, 860-295-9523 (CT)

Ed and Julie Robinson, Wildlife Management Institute, Loudon, NH, julesprobinson@comcast.net, 603-856-1602 and 603-856-1603 (southern NH)

Lisa Wahle, Connecticut Division of Energy and and Environmental Protection, Marlborough, CT, Lisa.Wahle@ct.gov, 860-295-9523 (New England cottontail, CT)

Andrew Weik, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Freeville, NY, AndyW@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 607-793-4832 (ruffed grouse and woodcock, New England, NY, Lower Mississippi Valley, eastern Canada)


Mid-Atlantic

Mark Banker, Wildlife Management Institute, Lemont, PA, markebanker@gmail.com, 814-440-7966 (southern PA, NJ, eastern MD, and WV)

Mitchell Blake, National Wild Turkey Federation, Harrisburg, PA, mblake@nwtf.net, 814-977-0007 (wild turkey, PA, NJ, MD, DE)

Michael Burger, Wildlife Management Institute/Audubon New York, Ithaca, NY, mburger@cornell.edu, 607-254-2441 (golden-winged warbler, northern NY)

Steve Capel, Wildlife Management Institute, Midlothian, VA, stevecapel41@gmail.com, 804-379-4519 (eastern VA)

John Coleman, Wildlife Management Institute, Woodstock, VA, poopaw@shentel.net, 540-459-2437 (western VA)

Beth Goldstein, Realty Specialist, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Hadley, MA, beth.goldstein@fws.gov, 413-253-8564 (Great Thicket National Wildlife Refuge, NY)

Carl Graybill, Wildlife Management Institute, Annville, PA, cgraybilljr@comcast.net, 717-222-1053 (PA)

Jeff Herrick, Wildlife Management Institute, E. Rochester, OH, jcherrick@myfrontiermail.com, 330-575-3177 (northwestern PA)

Doug Little, National Wild Turkey Federation, Cornwallville, NY, dlittle@nwtf.net, 518-239-4427 or 518-817-1161 (wild turkey and New England cottontail, eastern NY)

Tom Mathews, Wildlife Management Institute, Cumberland, MD, tommathews@atlanticbb.net, 301-707-3475 (central and western MD)

Joe Nelson, Wildlife Management Institute, Vergennes, VT, joenelson.pc@gmail.com, 802-343-9888 (northern NY)

Linda Ordiway, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Bradford, PA, LindaO@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 412-720-6034 (ruffed grouse and woodcock, Mid-Atlantic, Southern Appalachians)

Dave Putnam, Wildlife Management Institute, Centre Hall, PA, putnam.dave@gmail.com, 814-364-1091 or 814-880-5123 (PA)


Midwest

Mark Banker, Wildlife Management Institute, Lemont, PA, markebanker@gmail.com, 814-440-7966 (OH, Lower Peninsula MI)

Ted Dick, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Forest Gamebird Coordinator, Grand Rapids, MN, Ted.Dick@state.mn.us, 218-999-7870 (MN)

Eric Ellis, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Traverse City, MI, EricE@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 231-360-7712 (ruffed grouse and woodcock, IN, Lower Peninsula MI, and OH)

Jacob Granfors, Pheasants Forever, Aitkin, MN, jgranfors@pheasantsforever.org, 218-434-0929 (ring-necked pheasants)

Jeff Herrick, Wildlife Management Institute, E. Rochester, OH, jcherrick@myfrontiermail.com, 330-575-3177 (northern OH)

Valerie Johnson, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, NRCS, Wisconsin DNR, ValerieJ@ruffedgrousesociety.org, Valerie.E.Johnson@wi.usda.gov, 715-635-8228 x 115 (office), 715-450-2531 (cell), (ruffed grouse and woodcock, northern WI)

Meadow Kouffeld-Hansen, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Grand Rapids, MN, MeadowK@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 218-999-4722 (office), 218-398-1076 (cell), (ruffed grouse and woodcock, MN, Upper Peninsula MI)

Robert Tomlinson, Wildlife Management Institute, Falcon Heights, MN, bobstomlinson@gmail.com, 651-387-4060 (MN)

Scott Walter, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Viola, WI, ScottW@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 608-538-3840 (office), 412-720-6038 (cell), (ruffed grouse and woodcock, WI, IL, IO)

Randee Wlodek, Wisconsin Young Forest Partnership Habitat Coordinator, Rhinelander, WI, dnryoungforest@wisconsin.gov, 715-369-1180 (WI)


Regionwide and Administrative

Charles Fergus, Wildlife Management Institute, Lyndonville, VT, charleslfergus@gmail.com, 802-626-4220 (website and communications)

Judy Stokes Weber, Wildlife Management Institute, Rumney, NH, judystokesweber@roadrunner.com, 603-786-2577 or 603-348-5298 (communications)

Steve Weber, Wildlife Management Institute, Rumney, NH, sweber56@roadrunner.com, 603-786-2577 or 603-348-5298 (science and administration)